How can I reset all settings in Cura?

Resetting Cura might be useful in the following cases:

  • When Cura has to be freshly started, for demonstrating purposes.
  • When issues occur with profiles or machine settings within Cura.
  • As a last resort to fix crashes or start up issues.

WARNING: Performing a full reset of Cura removes all machines, profiles and preferences set! We strongly advice to backup important profiles first!

Method 1

  1. Open Cura.
  2. Go to Help > Show configuration folder.
  3. Close Cura.
  4. Delete all files in the folder.
  5. Start Cura.

Method 2

Mac OSX

  1. Make sure Cura is closed.
  2. Open a finder window.
  3. Navigate to: Macintosh HD\Users\[user_name]\Library\Application Support\cura 'Library' is a hidden folder. Navigate to it quickly in a finder window; click 'Go' in the menu, hold 'ALT' to reveal the library window.
  4. Delete the entire 'cura' folder.
  5. Open Cura. When Cura opens the first start guide the reset is done correctly.

Windows

  1. Make sure Cura is closed.
  2. Open a file explorer window.
  3. Navigate to: My Computer/users/[user_name]/AppData/Local/cura Note: The 'AppData' folder is a hidden folder by default.
  4. Delete the entire 'cura' folder.
  5. Open Cura. When Cura opens the first start guide the reset is done correctly.

Linux

  1. Make sure Cura is closed.
  2. Navigate to: $USER/.local/share/cura
  3. Delete the entire 'cura' folder.
  4. Open Cura. When Cura opens the first start guide the reset is done correctly.

Support